Alabama Driver Licensing Laws

Search Again

State Alabama
Seizure-Free Period 6 months, with exceptions
Periodic Medical Updates Required After Licensing Annually for 5 years from date of last seizure.
Doctors Required to Report Epilepsy No
DMV Appeal of License Denial Within 14 days

Driver's License

A person with epilepsy may obtain a driver's license if he or she submits a medical report stating they have been seizure-free for 6 months. The medical information submitted by the applicant is reviewed by the Medical Advisory Board of the Department of Public Safety. The person must submit annual medical reports for 5 years from the date of the last seizure. A doctor who submits these reports has civil and criminal immunity for providing reports, records, examinations, opinions, or recommendations to the Director of Public Safety [ALA. CODE 32-6-45]. Restricted licenses are not available. There is no reference to a physician's immunity from liability for damages arising out of a seizure-caused accident. Alabama has adopted the federal Department of Transportation's criteria for licensing commercial truck drivers. According to the state Department of Public Safety, no waivers for epilepsy are granted. Individuals with epilepsy may not be licensed to drive taxis or school buses. A person who has had a seizure within the last 6 months will have his or her license suspended or denied, and is entitled to a hearing with a Public Safety Hearing Officer. The request for a hearing must be made in writing within 14 days. When a license is canceled, suspended, revoked, or denied, the licensee or applicant has the right to a judicial appeal [ 32-5A-195(q)]. The appeal must be filed within 30 days.,Alabama Code 32-6-1(c) provides that the Department of Public Safety shall make an identification card available to any state resident who does not hold a valid state driver's license. The non-driver may obtain an identification card at a Driver License Examining Station. The cost is the same as for a driver's license and expires in 8 years for those less than 62 years of age. For those over 62 years of age, the non-driver identification is non-expiring. The identification card is also free to anyone physically or mentally disabled to the extent that they were denied a driver's license [32-6-41].,There is no statutory provision requiring doctors to report people with epilepsy to a central state agency.

Identification Card

Alabama Code 32-6-1(c) provides that the Department of Public Safety shall make an identification card available to any state resident who does not hold a valid state driver's license. The non-driver may obtain an identification card at a Driver License Examining Station. The cost is the same as for a driver's license and expires in 8 years for those less than 62 years of age. For those over 62 years of age, the non-driver identification is non-expiring. The identification card is also free to anyone physically or mentally disabled to the extent that they were denied a driver's license [32-6-41].

Reporting

There is no statutory provision requiring doctors to report people with epilepsy to a central state agency.